School Districts Near JBLM

Here are a couple of great tools for researching schools near JBLM. To search test scores, teacher and student population sizes, and more for each school in the state,  Click here.  To find out how these districts rank in the state of Washington check out the school district report card here.

School Districts close to Joint Base Fort Lewis McChord AFB

Clover Park School District Clover Park School District is the 26th largest public school district in Washington state and the fourth largest of 15 in Pierce County. The district is located immediately south of Tacoma. It encompasses 26 square miles in the western end of the county, serving the Lakewood and Joint Base Lewis-McChord communities.

Puyallup School District– The Puyallup School District is the ninth largest district in the State of Washington, serving a population of approximately 100,000 residents. The district is located six miles east of Tacoma, 30 miles south of Seattle, and is situated in the heart of the Puyallup Valley. The district has 21 elementary schools, seven junior high schools, three comprehensive senior high schools, and an alternative school, all of which serve nearly 22,000 students.

Tacoma School District – Tacoma Public Schools (TPS) is the third largest district in Washington State serving more than 28,000 children in kindergarten through grade 12. The district has 37 elementary schools, nine middle schools, five comprehensive high schools and 14 alternative learning sites.

Steilacoom Dupont School District – Established in 1855, Steilacoom Historical School District No. 1 is the oldest organized school district in Pierce County. The District serves the communities of Steilacoom, DuPont, Anderson Island, McNeil Island, plus portions of Lakewood and unincorporated Pierce County. Just over 4,600 students are currently enrolled in the District’s Pre-K through 12th grade programs at eight facilities: a remote and necessary K-5 elementary school on Anderson Island and five mainland schools – Cherrydale Primary School (Pre K-3), Chloe Clark Elementary (K-3), Saltar’s Point Elementary (4-5), Pioneer Middle School (6-8), Steilacoom High School (9-12); and Washington Virtual Academy (K-8).

North Thurston School District – North Thurston Public Schools is located in picturesque South Puget Sound next door to the state capital. They are the largest school district in the county, educating nearly 13,700 students each year, with 13 elementary schools, 4 middle schools (including a new performing arts magnet school), 3 comprehensive high schools and one high school of choice.

Olympia School District – The Olympia School District is located in the Washington State Capital with diverse learning opportunities for more than 9,000 students located in 19 buildings. Their major focus is on continuous and maximized academic achievement for all students. Their approach to educational excellence is a holistic one, with strong programs in IB and AP, fine arts, technology, basic education, and athletics.

Bethel School District –  The Bethel School District is a dynamic district that covers over 215 square miles in southeast Pierce County. Currently, Bethel is the 13th largest district in the state with an estimated enrollment of nearly 18,000 students. Bethel has 17 elementary schools (K-6), six junior high schools (7-9), three comprehensive senior high schools (10-12), an alternative school (8-12) and two online academies. In September 2010, the Pierce County Skills Center opened its doors to district and county students.

Franklin Pierce School District – Franklin Pierce School District is located in south Pierce County. It was established in 1949 and has a history of progressive thinking that helps to make it one of the most innovative Districts in the county.  Proudly serving 7900 students from preschool to grade 12 in a variety of settings including eight elementaries, two middle schools, two traditional high schools and three alternative high school/middle schools.

Yelm School District – Yelm is the fourth largest district in Thurston County serving the communities of Yelm, McKenna, the Bald Hills (Clear Lake), the Lawrence Lake area, the Nisqually Indian Reservation, and parts of the Lacey suburbs. A portion of the district’s 192 square miles extends into Pierce County.